Early Years Foundation Stage

In Day Care, we will work in line with the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum.

"The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the statutory framework published by the Department for Education that sets the standards for the development, learning and care of children from birth to five."

The 7 areas of the EYFS curriculum are:
• Communication and Language • Physical Development • Personal, Social and Emotional Development • Literacy • Mathematics • Understanding the World • Expressive Arts and Design

Being a small 12 place per session setting allows for personalised development plans for every child to ensure they develop and maximise their learning potential according to their individual needs.

What to expect, when?

The EYFS document has been written for practitioners by the Government.

Below is the link to download a document entitled 'What to expect, when?' This document has been written for parents and guides you through the stages of your child's development between 0 and 5 years. It also details what you could do to support your child's learning and development.

File icon: pdf What to expect, when? [pdf 2MB] Click to download

EYFS Document

If you are interested in reading the full statutory framework to the EYFS, please click on the link below.

File icon: pdf EYFS framework [pdf 236KB] Click to download

Development Matters

This document shows the assessment framework that our EYFS staff use to assess the children.

We use it in Daycare, Nursery and Reception. 

File icon: pdf Development-Matters-FINAL-PRINT-AMENDED [pdf 651KB] Click to download